What is the classification in Burgundy?

  • 33 Grands Crus AOC
  • 640 1er Crus denominations
  • 44 communal AOC
  • 7 regional AOC

What are the most planted grape varieties?

  • Chardonnay
  • Pinot noir
  • Aligoté
  • Gamay

More about Burgundy

Burgundy is located in central eastern France. It has +28,000 hectares of vines divided into 6 sub-regions, from north to south: Chablis and Grand Auxerrois, Côte de Nuits, Côte de Beaune, Côte Chalonnaise, Mâconnais.

Burgundy wine region has been founded by the Romans during the 1st century. It has been developed by monastic orders of the Middle Ages, who introduced the notion of climats: these renowned, well-defined and distinct Burgundy terroirs.

The climate in Burgundy is cool continental*. Main risks associated with viticulture are spring frosts, hail storms, drought and fungal diseases.


*Short and rainy summer, high continentaly, average temperature less than 16.5°C during the vine growing season

Léa Gatinois DipWSET