What are the wine colours?

  • 90% reds
  • 5% rosés
  • 5% whites

What are the grape varieties?

  • 90% gamay
  • 10% chardonnay 

More on Beaujolais wine region

The Beaujolais wine region stretches from Mâcon in the north to Lyon in the south, in eastern France.

There are 12 appellations.

To the south, the Beaujolais AOP, on clay-limestone soils. To the north, the Beaujolais Villages AOP, represented by 38 villages, on schist and granite soils, giving more concentrated wines. In this latter appellation area, some terroirs stand out and have given birth to the 10 Beaujolais crus

The Beaujolais and Beaujolais Villages appellations are also famous for Beaujolais Nouveau, a young, fresh and fruity wine, released and celebrated every year on the third Thursday of November.

Léa Gatinois DipWSET